Text box
- jrjr
- Phoca Professional
- Posts: 114
- Joined: 30 Nov 2018, 23:56
Text box
I want to add a text box to my product attributes. When created it is one single line of text. I do see how to increase the height of the box but doing so only creates unusable white space above and below the text while the text remains on one line. hitting enter does not create a new line. How can I style the box to have multiple lines and be a larger size?
Tags:
-
- Phoca Hero
- Posts: 2818
- Joined: 28 Nov 2010, 17:20
Re: Text box
Hi jrjr,
Could we see this please?
Kind regards
Christine
Could we see this please?
Kind regards
Christine
- jrjr
- Phoca Professional
- Posts: 114
- Joined: 30 Nov 2018, 23:56
Re: Text box
Sure
This is my test site and I have only added the text box to one item for testing purposes -
http://site2.lakeshoreleather.com/our-p ... wb-holster
I have changed height:41 in Chrome/inspect to get the results I described but even at stock setting (41) it is only one line.
This seems to be Joomla! css and seems like it should be <textarea> instead of <text>
This is my test site and I have only added the text box to one item for testing purposes -
http://site2.lakeshoreleather.com/our-p ... wb-holster
I have changed height:41 in Chrome/inspect to get the results I described but even at stock setting (41) it is only one line.
This seems to be Joomla! css and seems like it should be <textarea> instead of <text>
Code: Select all
input[type="text"], input[type="password"], input[type="datetime"], input[type="datetime-local"], input[type="date"], input[type="month"], input[type="time"], input[type="week"], input[type="number"], input[type="email"], input[type="url"], input[type="search"], input[type="tel"], input[type="color"], .uneditable-input {
height: 41px;
}
- Jan
- Phoca Hero
- Posts: 48386
- Joined: 10 Nov 2007, 18:23
- Location: Czech Republic
- Contact:
Re: Text box
Hi, if you want to have text box with more lines, you need to use textarea which then you can style with height and width - mostly it is better to user some relative height and width like percentage.
so html:
and css:
Jan
so html:
Code: Select all
<textarea class="myTextarea">...</textarea>
Code: Select all
.myTextarea {
height: 5em;
width: 15em;
}
If you find Phoca extensions useful, please support the project
- jrjr
- Phoca Professional
- Posts: 114
- Joined: 30 Nov 2018, 23:56
Re: Text box
I kind of thought so. Is it possible to add this feature to the product attribute?
- Jan
- Phoca Hero
- Posts: 48386
- Joined: 10 Nov 2007, 18:23
- Location: Czech Republic
- Contact:
Re: Text box
Hi, do you mean to extend the attribute types to textarea?
Jan
Jan
If you find Phoca extensions useful, please support the project
- jrjr
- Phoca Professional
- Posts: 114
- Joined: 30 Nov 2018, 23:56
Re: Text box
Yes exactly. Add -
Text area
below
Text (256)
As a selectable option.
Actually I think you could just replace the Text (256) with text area. Wouldn't it be extremely difficult to use 256 characters in a box that you can't see what you are writing because most of it is hidden from view? It would be for me.
Text area
below
Text (256)
As a selectable option.
Actually I think you could just replace the Text (256) with text area. Wouldn't it be extremely difficult to use 256 characters in a box that you can't see what you are writing because most of it is hidden from view? It would be for me.
- Jan
- Phoca Hero
- Posts: 48386
- Joined: 10 Nov 2007, 18:23
- Location: Czech Republic
- Contact:
Re: Text box
Hi, I will take a look at it.
Jan
Jan
If you find Phoca extensions useful, please support the project
- Jan
- Phoca Hero
- Posts: 48386
- Joined: 10 Nov 2007, 18:23
- Location: Czech Republic
- Contact:
Re: Text box
If you find Phoca extensions useful, please support the project