Link to open form not showing
-
- Phoca Newbie
- Posts: 5
- Joined: 13 Apr 2022, 17:48
Link to open form not showing
Display Form - (Hide | Display) Set if form should be displayed or not. If not then link to the form will be displayed (clicking on link will display the form)
Sorry but no link is showing up to open the guestbook form.
Sorry but no link is showing up to open the guestbook form.
Tags:
- Jan
- Phoca Hero
- Posts: 48386
- Joined: 10 Nov 2007, 18:23
- Location: Czech Republic
- Contact:
Re: Link to open form not showing
Hi, which version of Phoca Guestbook and Joomla do you use?
If you find Phoca extensions useful, please support the project
-
- Phoca Newbie
- Posts: 5
- Joined: 13 Apr 2022, 17:48
Re: Link to open form not showing
On a test site using the latest joomla 4 and Phoca guestbook 4.0.0 beta.
- Jan
- Phoca Hero
- Posts: 48386
- Joined: 10 Nov 2007, 18:23
- Location: Czech Republic
- Contact:
Re: Link to open form not showing
Hi, thank you for the info, confirmed. I will take a look at it (not sure if this parameter will stay in Joomla 4 because of new JS and CSS libraries which maybe don't allow to display the link with content)
Thank you, Jan
Thank you, Jan
If you find Phoca extensions useful, please support the project
-
- Phoca Newbie
- Posts: 5
- Joined: 13 Apr 2022, 17:48
Re: Link to open form not showing
Ok, i hope it will come back. Thank you for the info.
gr.
Evert
gr.
Evert
- Jan
- Phoca Hero
- Posts: 48386
- Joined: 10 Nov 2007, 18:23
- Location: Czech Republic
- Contact:
Re: Link to open form not showing
Hi, tested now, but unfortunately, this is not more possible with new design libraries. As there is available only classic form, it is not a part of the system anymore. The parameter will only show or hide the form and I will try to find another way for this feature in future (like e.g. adding some Bootsrap collapse function, etc.). But for now, there is no such option
Jan
Jan
If you find Phoca extensions useful, please support the project
-
- Phoca Newbie
- Posts: 6
- Joined: 13 May 2022, 09:46
Re: Link to open form not showing
I have implemented my own solution with my own html/css/jquery placed in the "Description" of the created Guestbook (i.e. Phoca Guestbook --> Control Panel --> Guestbooks --> New/Existing --> Code Editor).
First of all set the Display Form - (Hide | Display) to "Display".
I created my own tabs/buttons as follows
and formated the tabs/buttons appropriately with CSS. The "active" class is used to paint the tab/button differently and it is manipulated by jQuery code below.
I have the Message Posting panel being hidden with the following CSS code:
I added the necessary jQuery to display/hide the Message Posting panel as follows:
The Phoca GuestBook does not provide much formatting but it provides an excellent base to work on.
My wishes for future updates are:
First of all set the Display Form - (Hide | Display) to "Display".
I created my own tabs/buttons as follows
Code: Select all
<div class="panelTabsContainer">
<div id='postsTab' class='panelTabs active' data-panel='posts'>Posts Only</div>
<div id='messagesTab' class='panelTabs' data-panel='postMessage'>Post A Message</div>
</div>
I have the Message Posting panel being hidden with the following CSS code:
Code: Select all
.well.pgwell.pgb_sec_font {
display: none;
}
Code: Select all
$('.panelTabs').on('click', function() {
$('.panelTabs').removeClass('active'); // REMOVE CLASS "ACTIVE" FROM ALL TABS/BUTTONS
$(this).addClass('active'); // ADD THE CLASS "ACTIVE" ON THE CLICKED TAB/BUTTON
var panel = $(this).attr('data-panel'); // FIND WHICH TAB/BUTTON WAS CLICKED
if (panel == 'postMessage') { // SHOW/HIDE MESSAGE POSTING PANEL ACCORDINGLY
$('.well.pgwell.pgb_sec_font').show();
} else {
$('.well.pgwell.pgb_sec_font').hide();
}
});
My wishes for future updates are:
- Group and place all individual posts within a parent element, instead of having them being siblings of the "Message Posting" panel. Their parent element should be a sibling of the "Message Posting" panel instead.
- Every HTML element should have an id attribute, and all sibling HTML elements should have same class attributes, so we may manipulate them with CSS and jQuery much easier.
- Jan
- Phoca Hero
- Posts: 48386
- Joined: 10 Nov 2007, 18:23
- Location: Czech Republic
- Contact:
Re: Link to open form not showing
Hi, thank you very much for the improvement and feedback.
Thank you, Jan
Thank you, Jan
If you find Phoca extensions useful, please support the project
-
- Phoca Newbie
- Posts: 3
- Joined: 17 May 2022, 19:36
Re: Link to open form not showing
@StavrosZ, thanks a lot. A clever workaround to 'hide' the posing form
-
- Phoca Newbie
- Posts: 2
- Joined: 08 Feb 2023, 22:31
Re: Link to open form not showing
Please tell me what file you changed, or send me the files you changed, what files you changed or added and what folder they are in, unfortunately so I don't know how to use your precious information.StavrosZ wrote: ↑13 May 2022, 11:41 I have implemented my own solution with my own html/css/jquery placed in the "Description" of the created Guestbook (i.e. Phoca Guestbook --> Control Panel --> Guestbooks --> New/Existing --> Code Editor).
First of all set the Display Form - (Hide | Display) to "Display".
I created my own tabs/buttons as followsand formated the tabs/buttons appropriately with CSS. The "active" class is used to paint the tab/button differently and it is manipulated by jQuery code below.Code: Select all
<div class="panelTabsContainer"> <div id='postsTab' class='panelTabs active' data-panel='posts'>Posts Only</div> <div id='messagesTab' class='panelTabs' data-panel='postMessage'>Post A Message</div> </div>
I have the Message Posting panel being hidden with the following CSS code:I added the necessary jQuery to display/hide the Message Posting panel as follows:Code: Select all
.well.pgwell.pgb_sec_font { display: none; }
The Phoca GuestBook does not provide much formatting but it provides an excellent base to work on.Code: Select all
$('.panelTabs').on('click', function() { $('.panelTabs').removeClass('active'); // REMOVE CLASS "ACTIVE" FROM ALL TABS/BUTTONS $(this).addClass('active'); // ADD THE CLASS "ACTIVE" ON THE CLICKED TAB/BUTTON var panel = $(this).attr('data-panel'); // FIND WHICH TAB/BUTTON WAS CLICKED if (panel == 'postMessage') { // SHOW/HIDE MESSAGE POSTING PANEL ACCORDINGLY $('.well.pgwell.pgb_sec_font').show(); } else { $('.well.pgwell.pgb_sec_font').hide(); } });
My wishes for future updates are:
- Group and place all individual posts within a parent element, instead of having them being siblings of the "Message Posting" panel. Their parent element should be a sibling of the "Message Posting" panel instead.
- Every HTML element should have an id attribute, and all sibling HTML elements should have same class attributes, so we may manipulate them with CSS and jQuery much easier.