Page 1 of 2
Text box
Posted: 12 Feb 2019, 02:56
by jrjr
I want to add a text box to my product attributes. When created it is one single line of text. I do see how to increase the height of the box but doing so only creates unusable white space above and below the text while the text remains on one line. hitting enter does not create a new line. How can I style the box to have multiple lines and be a larger size?
Re: Text box
Posted: 12 Feb 2019, 12:34
by christine
Hi jrjr,
Could we see this please?
Kind regards
Christine
Re: Text box
Posted: 12 Feb 2019, 14:03
by jrjr
Sure
This is my test site and I have only added the text box to one item for testing purposes -
http://site2.lakeshoreleather.com/our-p ... wb-holster
I have changed height:41 in Chrome/inspect to get the results I described but even at stock setting (41) it is only one line.
This seems to be Joomla! css and seems like it should be <textarea> instead of <text>
Code: Select all
input[type="text"], input[type="password"], input[type="datetime"], input[type="datetime-local"], input[type="date"], input[type="month"], input[type="time"], input[type="week"], input[type="number"], input[type="email"], input[type="url"], input[type="search"], input[type="tel"], input[type="color"], .uneditable-input {
height: 41px;
}
Re: Text box
Posted: 12 Feb 2019, 20:31
by Jan
Hi, if you want to have text box with more lines, you need to use textarea which then you can style with height and width - mostly it is better to user some relative height and width like percentage.
so html:
Code: Select all
<textarea class="myTextarea">...</textarea>
and css:
Code: Select all
.myTextarea {
height: 5em;
width: 15em;
}
Jan
Re: Text box
Posted: 12 Feb 2019, 21:14
by jrjr
I kind of thought so. Is it possible to add this feature to the product attribute?
Re: Text box
Posted: 13 Feb 2019, 10:15
by Jan
Hi, do you mean to extend the attribute types to textarea?
Jan
Re: Text box
Posted: 13 Feb 2019, 15:11
by jrjr
Yes exactly. Add -
Text area
below
Text (256)
As a selectable option.
Actually I think you could just replace the Text (256) with text area. Wouldn't it be extremely difficult to use 256 characters in a box that you can't see what you are writing because most of it is hidden from view? It would be for me.
Re: Text box
Posted: 13 Feb 2019, 23:13
by Jan
Hi, I will take a look at it.
Jan
Re: Text box
Posted: 07 Apr 2019, 17:13
by Jan
Re: Text box
Posted: 07 Apr 2019, 17:49
by jrjr
Excellent! Thank you