view=category-masonry: how to use medium thumbnails?
-
- Phoca Member
- Posts: 16
- Joined: 05 Nov 2023, 12:05
view=category-masonry: how to use medium thumbnails?
Dear all,
given this code:
{phocagallery view=category-masonry|categoryid=175|limitstart=0|limitcount=0}
I have the problem, that the thumbnails used in the grid preview are the large thumbnails, meaning that the grid preview takes very long to load.
see: https://herpetofauna.eu/index.php/reisen/oman-2017
Whereas this code properly uses the medium thumbnails and correctly shows the large thumbnails after clicking on them.
{phocagallery view=category|categoryid=175|limitstart=0|limitcount=0}
How or where can I define, that for the masonry grid gallery-preview the medium size thumnails are used (and by clicking on them coming to the large thumbnails in photoswipe)?
Many thanks!
Liebe alle,
mit diesem Code:
{phocagallery view=category-masonry|categoryid=175|limitstart=0|limitcount=0}
habe ich das Problem, dass die im Raster angeordneten thumbnails bereits die large-thumbnails sind, das heißt diese Vorschau der Bilder braucht sehr lange zu laden.
Siehe: https://herpetofauna.eu/index.php/reisen/oman-2017
Dieser code hingegen verwendet richtigerweise die medium-thumbnails und öffnet dann richtig die large-thumnails wenn man darauf klickt:
{phocagallery view=category|categoryid=175|limitstart=0|limitcount=0}
Wo oder wie kann ich einstellen, dass auch für den masonry raster gallery-preview die medium-thumbnails verwendet werden (und ich dann erst nach Klick darauf zur den large thumbnails in photoswipe komme)?
Vielen Dank!
Gerald
given this code:
{phocagallery view=category-masonry|categoryid=175|limitstart=0|limitcount=0}
I have the problem, that the thumbnails used in the grid preview are the large thumbnails, meaning that the grid preview takes very long to load.
see: https://herpetofauna.eu/index.php/reisen/oman-2017
Whereas this code properly uses the medium thumbnails and correctly shows the large thumbnails after clicking on them.
{phocagallery view=category|categoryid=175|limitstart=0|limitcount=0}
How or where can I define, that for the masonry grid gallery-preview the medium size thumnails are used (and by clicking on them coming to the large thumbnails in photoswipe)?
Many thanks!
Liebe alle,
mit diesem Code:
{phocagallery view=category-masonry|categoryid=175|limitstart=0|limitcount=0}
habe ich das Problem, dass die im Raster angeordneten thumbnails bereits die large-thumbnails sind, das heißt diese Vorschau der Bilder braucht sehr lange zu laden.
Siehe: https://herpetofauna.eu/index.php/reisen/oman-2017
Dieser code hingegen verwendet richtigerweise die medium-thumbnails und öffnet dann richtig die large-thumnails wenn man darauf klickt:
{phocagallery view=category|categoryid=175|limitstart=0|limitcount=0}
Wo oder wie kann ich einstellen, dass auch für den masonry raster gallery-preview die medium-thumbnails verwendet werden (und ich dann erst nach Klick darauf zur den large thumbnails in photoswipe komme)?
Vielen Dank!
Gerald
-
- Phoca Hero
- Posts: 2818
- Joined: 28 Nov 2010, 17:20
Re: view=category-masonry: how to use medium thumbnails?
Hallo Gerald,
Confirmed. Sorry, I don't know. It seems, there is no parameter to change to medium-thumbnails. Therefore informed Jan about.
Liebe Grüße
Christine
Confirmed. Sorry, I don't know. It seems, there is no parameter to change to medium-thumbnails. Therefore informed Jan about.
Liebe Grüße
Christine
- Jan
- Phoca Hero
- Posts: 48386
- Joined: 10 Nov 2007, 18:23
- Location: Czech Republic
- Contact:
Re: view=category-masonry: how to use medium thumbnails?
Hi, yes, the masonry uses large thumnails because mostly medium is to small for having masonry effect.
To change it, the plugin code needs to be edited:
plugins/content/phocagallery/phocagallery.php
Change imageL to imageM e.g. here:
Jan
To change it, the plugin code needs to be edited:
plugins/content/phocagallery/phocagallery.php
Change imageL to imageM e.g. here:
Code: Select all
$v->link = $imageL;
$v->linkthumbnailpath = $imageL;
If you find Phoca extensions useful, please support the project
-
- Phoca Member
- Posts: 16
- Joined: 05 Nov 2023, 12:05
Re: view=category-masonry: how to use medium thumbnails?
Many thanks! Replacing only
with
does the trick
But that leads me to the next question - as you mentioned the medium thumbs are too small, meaning the white space between them gets too big. I tried to do changes via css, but I couldnt make this empty white space noticably less in the red rectangle marked below:
Do you or maybe someone else know how to reduce that empty space?
(I also tried to set the column-count of the outer div to 4 instead of 3, but this leads to too many empty cells on the bottom right, because it seems the grid gets filled column wise from top to bottom and left to right.)
Thanks & Best regards
Gerald
Code: Select all
$v->linkthumbnailpath = $imageL;
Code: Select all
$v->linkthumbnailpath = $imageM;
does the trick
But that leads me to the next question - as you mentioned the medium thumbs are too small, meaning the white space between them gets too big. I tried to do changes via css, but I couldnt make this empty white space noticably less in the red rectangle marked below:
Do you or maybe someone else know how to reduce that empty space?
(I also tried to set the column-count of the outer div to 4 instead of 3, but this leads to too many empty cells on the bottom right, because it seems the grid gets filled column wise from top to bottom and left to right.)
Thanks & Best regards
Gerald
-
- Phoca Hero
- Posts: 2818
- Joined: 28 Nov 2010, 17:20
Re: view=category-masonry: how to use medium thumbnails?
Hi Gerald,
I don't currently see any masonry on the /oman2017 page? for investigation with inspector ...
Kind regards
Christine
I don't currently see any masonry on the /oman2017 page? for investigation with inspector ...
Kind regards
Christine
- Jan
- Phoca Hero
- Posts: 48386
- Joined: 10 Nov 2007, 18:23
- Location: Czech Republic
- Contact:
Re: view=category-masonry: how to use medium thumbnails?
BTW, this is why there are large thumbnails, to not have empty spaces there. So if you will use medium thumbnails and have spaces there, then you need to customize the masonry CSS directly in code
Jan
Jan
If you find Phoca extensions useful, please support the project
-
- Phoca Member
- Posts: 16
- Joined: 05 Nov 2023, 12:05
Re: view=category-masonry: how to use medium thumbnails?
Aaaah, sorry, that happens when two persons work on the same thing..
I made a copy for testing the masonry layout here, so here you can use the inspector:
https://herpetofauna.eu/index.php?optio ... -phocatest
You mean it's possible to solve it only in the phocagallery-masonry.css, without touching the html?
Thanks to both of you
Gerald
-
- Phoca Hero
- Posts: 2818
- Joined: 28 Nov 2010, 17:20
Re: view=category-masonry: how to use medium thumbnails?
Hallo Gerald,
Try following into the custom.css (of course it depends on the media queries):
.... count: 3; or 4;
Kind regards
Christine
Try following into the custom.css (of course it depends on the media queries):
Code: Select all
@media only screen and (min-width: 769px) and (max-width: 1200px){
.pg-masonry {
-moz-column-count: 4;
-webkit-column-count: 4;
column-count: 4;
column-gap: 0.1em;
}
Kind regards
Christine
-
- Phoca Member
- Posts: 16
- Joined: 05 Nov 2023, 12:05
Re: view=category-masonry: how to use medium thumbnails?
Hallo Christine,
thank you for the suggestion. I already tried that, which leads to the problem that there are quite much unused tiles, because it seems to get generated the way I wrote before:
best greetings
Gerald
thank you for the suggestion. I already tried that, which leads to the problem that there are quite much unused tiles, because it seems to get generated the way I wrote before:
best greetings
Gerald
-
- Phoca Hero
- Posts: 2818
- Joined: 28 Nov 2010, 17:20
Re: view=category-masonry: how to use medium thumbnails?
Hallo Gerald,
I also looked here and there. Most of the time I saw 1 empty spot. I couldn't find your view. Maybe you can post it here?
In addition: I could imagine the following. Temporarily activate the image description. It may be a longer text, which is why the following image is next in line. It's not a good example (screenshot), but just as an idea.
Kind regards
Christine
I also looked here and there. Most of the time I saw 1 empty spot. I couldn't find your view. Maybe you can post it here?
In addition: I could imagine the following. Temporarily activate the image description. It may be a longer text, which is why the following image is next in line. It's not a good example (screenshot), but just as an idea.
Kind regards
Christine